Setting SMART objectives

My local CIPD branch forwarded their Mentee Handbook after I was unable to attend the webinar, this document outlined:

  • What is mentoring
  • Roles within mentoring
  • Role model mentoring
  • The mentoring life cycle
  • Issues to consider in a mentoring agreement
  • What are the benefits of mentoring
  • A checklist for your first meeting
  • Setting learning objectives
  • Winding up the mentoring relationship

I am in regular contact with my mentor and we are starting to set direction. Which means it’s time to sit and set myself a SMART objective.

There are various meanings for SMART which Duncan Haughey explores in Project Smart’s SMART goals. I typically think of SMART as the below:

img_2067

So, lets apply this to my goals:

S= I want to move away from admin tasks  and focus on designing  and delivering learning and development programs . Long term goal is to become an L&D consultant.

M= Be successful at interview for a job opportunity within my organisation which is due to open in the near future. If not successful , a clear picture of how my current role can increase my skill set for the long term goal.

A= With support of my family, colleagues and line manager, yes.

R= I need to update my skills in certain areas and gain more knowledge in new technology. Given the opportunity to assist on a live project within my organisation and through research, reading and networking at home I am unable my to see any reasons why not.

T=  Design/delivery role – 6 months. L&D consultant- 10 years.

By putting this together in one sentence I should have a SMART objective:

Over the next 6 months I will be able to demonstrate I have updated my skills, knowledge and increased my experience in designing L&D programs. I will be able to demonstrate this at interview for a digital learning designer role. Alongside this, I will identify 5 areas of development to work towards my dream of being an L&D consultant.

If you are looking at setting yourself goals and objectives Project Smart provide a free SMARTER goals template, which  may help you.


The views and opinions expressed in the article shared are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views do not necessarily reflect those of Focus N Develop.

Leave a Reply

